Emerald Cricket Club was established in 1891and has a long and proud history with

traditions formed by successful teams, great cricketers and keen administrators who

have acted in the best interests of the ECC and the game of cricket. 


The Emerald Cricket Club claimed their first premiership back in the 1921/22 season. The club went back to back and won again in 1922/23 and just afew later had more success in 1926/27. From 1929 through to 1933 the club claimed four flags in a row and has established itself as a powerful club in the local district. Premierships contuined at a steady rate with success in 1939/40, 1945/46, 1947/48,1948/49, 1949/50 and 1957/58. In 1960 the club began a period which would return 5 premierships in 6 years with Allan Chandler leading the club. The Bombers then had to endured a long drought with a few close calls including a 1 run loss in 2000/2001. The drought was broken in 2002/03 after 37 years since the Bombers last won a 1st eleven flag. Our First Eleven secured the B Grade Premiership against Kilcunda Bass led by Liam Meggarell . In more recent times, 10 years on after the drought was broken our first eleven have secured another premiership against Nar Nar Goon, this time led by AJ Walker after a domiant season with the bat. In 2013/14 our boys will be up against the best in the Premier competition of the WGCA, this is a challenge our young club is very excited about.  

Over the years we have had many great players who have been dominant on the field for ECC, players such as Clem Worrell, Harry Wescombe, Brad Wynd, Terry King, Mark Maddocks, Mark Missen, Peter Hamilton, Jamie Coates, Anthony Chandler, Geoff Worrell, Rod Smith, Tony Flint, Liam Meggarell just to name a few, and in more recent times Quinten Lucas and Clinton Marsh. However, there have been none better than Allan Chandler who led the first eleven to 5 premierships in the 1960's. Many at ECC consider Allan to be our greatest cricketer we have ever had. Allan captained the club for many years and won consecutive club champion awards over the years. The home of the Emerald Cricket Club Chandler Reserve is named after Allan.

Up until 1996 ECC had played in the Yarra Valley Cricket Association winning many premierships across the grades and had quite a number of Yarra Valley country week representatives. In 1996/97 the club moved to the West Gippsland Cricket Association  and since then has won a total of 20 premierships across senior and junior grades in 15 seasons enjoying one of the clubs most successful periods whilst developing youth within the club.

In season 2013/14 we will be fielding 4 senior sides, 5 junior sides and a veterans side.  



Emerald Cricket Club Life Members

Cliff Nobelius
Harry Wescombe
Allan Chandler
Clem & Jean Worrell
David Ind
Stuart Kent
Bradley Wynd
Terry & Kerryn Lucas
Andrew Morris
Gary Santini
Peter Hamilton
Chris Alenson
Rodney Smith
Neale Gillespie
Paul & Jenny Baldock